Subscribe   Login     ☰ Menu
Tourism Ticker
Tourism Ticker
Tourism Ticker
Tourism Ticker
Home   News   Analysis   Companies   Regions   Jobs   Market   Calendar

How the New Zealand Tourism Awards can help your business succeed

4 Jul 2023  By Contributor

Sponsored Content

The New Zealand Tourism Awards showcase and celebrate individual and business success across our industry. Brought to you by Tourism Industry Aotearoa in association with key industry partners, the Awards provide a benchmark for excellence. 

There is still time to enter the New Zealand Tourism Awards 2023, with entries closing on Thursday 6 July.  

Maverick Digital at the New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 at Claudelands Event Centre. Image: Mike Walen, KeyImagery Photography, Tourism Industry Aotearoa

How do these Awards help your business succeed?  

For finalists and winners, the Awards can help raise the profile of your operation, enhance staff morale and provide recognition for your achievements from your industry peers. 

We caught up with some of last year’s winners to see how the awards have affected their business journeys since then. 

Nadine Toe Toe, Kohutapu Lodge, says: “Since the awards, I have been invited to sit on various boards to provide our ‘flax roots’ opinions, to speak truthfully and to share ideas and create opportunities. I have been invited to speak at World Summits, to share our story on our Community and our Regenerative Tourism business, which in turn helps lift our national and indigenous profiles on a world stage.” 
Winner: Community Engagement and Regenerative Tourism Awards 2022

Nigel Hobbs, Altitude Tours, says: “It was huge recognition for the hard work and creative thinking we did to not only survive through COVID but also power out the other side. An opportunity to stand in front of the best tourism minds and businesses in the country and receive the award was something special and a hugely exhilarating experience. The awards process has given us an opportunity to stop and reflect, it has opened doors with new agent partners all over the world.” 
Winner: Resilience & Innovation Award 2022

iFLY Queenstown’s Matt Wong at the New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022. Image: Mike Walen, KeyImagery Photography, Tourism Industry Aotearoa

Matt Wong, iFLY Indoor Skydiving Queenstown, says: “It has been a truly transformative experience for our business. It has solidified our position as a leader in the industry, attracting top talent, enhancing guest satisfaction, and fostering a culture of excellence. This prestigious recognition will continue to inspire us to raise the bar and create an even better workplace for our employees, ensuring that we remain an employer of choice in the years to come.” 
Winner: Employer of Choice Award 2022

Garth Solly, The Landing, says: “It was a moment of great pride and cause for celebration for our team. The protection and conservation of Aotearoa’s unique and beautiful environment and culture are values that are intrinsic to our work and offering, and to have our efforts recognised at the highest level in New Zealand’s tourism industry has been deeply validating and encouraging.
Winner: Conservation Award 2022

Alex Dykman of Maverick Digital, says: “It has been fantastic validation of my efforts and progress in tourism to date. It’s given me confidence that I’m moving in the right direction, empowering me to be a better leader and inspiring me to push boundaries and work on new initiatives. Specifically, it’s worked to grow awareness of the awesome impact we make at Maverick Digital and created a large amount of support for our new startup, Grow Tourism.”
Winner: Emerging Tourism Leader Award 2022

The New Zealand Tourism Awards 2022 gala dinner and ceremony. Image: Mike Walen, KeyImagery Photography, Tourism Industry Aotearoa.

About the New Zealand Tourism Awards 2023 

The New Zealand Tourism Awards are open to both members and non-members of TIA. 

Three awards for individuals are open to outstanding performers in the industry, and ten awards recognise business excellence, industry alignment and organisations that are living the values of the Tourism Sustainability Commitment (TSC).   

There are two reintroduced categories this year, the Supreme Tourism Award and the Tourism Excellence Award, which honours high-achieving operators committed to the Tourism Sustainability Commitment’s standards and have regenerative ambitions. The Supreme Tourism Award, the tourism industry’s highest accolade, will be selected by an expert judging panel from the nine business award winners.

Other award categories include Community Engagement, Employer of Choice, Environment, Industry Collaboration and Alignment, He Toa Takitini Māori Tourism, Resilience and Innovation and Visitor Experience. Individual categories include Tourism Industry Champion, Emerging Tourism Leader, and the Sir Jack Newman Award. 

Categories and criteria can be found on the New Zealand Tourism Awards website. Once you’ve decided which Awards to enter, complete the entry form on the website and you’ll be sent a link to the relevant submission forms. 

Winners will be announced at the New Zealand Tourism Awards dinner on 7 November at Tākina in Te Whanganui-a-Tara Wellington, following the Tourism Summit Aotearoa.   

Tickets to the New Zealand Tourism Awards dinner will be available to purchase soon. 

Find out more and view categories on the New Zealand Tourism Awards website.


Related Articles